Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation
Bryan A. Schneider, Secretary  
Bruce Rauner, Governor
www.idfpr.comAgency Quick Links
IDFPR Home Page
Information About
Non-banking Financial Institutions
Professional Regulation
Real Estate
Contact Information
General FAQs
Banks and Trust Companies

2010 Bank Holiday Schedule

The following days in 2010 are legal holidays in Illinois upon which a bank may remain closed, but is not required to:

Date Day Holiday
January 1, 2010 Friday New Year's Day
January 18, 2010 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday (Observed)
February 12, 2010 Friday Abraham Lincoln's Birthday
February 15, 2010 Monday President's Day
March 1, 2010 Monday Casimir Pulaski's Birthday
April 2, 2010 Friday Good Friday
May 30, 2010 Monday Memorial Day
July 4, 2010 Sunday Independence Day
September 6, 2010 Monday Labor Day
October 11, 2010 Monday Columbus Day
November 2, 2010 Tuesday General Election
November 11, 2010 Thursday Veterans' Day
November 25, 2010 Thursday Thanksgiving Day
December 25, 2010 Saturday Christmas Day

In addition to the holidays cited above, banks are authorized to close at 12:00 noon on each Saturday and all day on Sunday. A bank may also select one additional day of the week to remain closed by following the procedures outlined in Section 17(b) of the Promissory Note and Bank Holiday Act [205 ILCS 630/17(b)].

 2009 Bank Holiday Schedule

New Web Site:

External Links
State Features
Office of the Governor
Illinois Business Portal
Illinois Veterans Care
Get Covered Illinois