Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation
Bryan A. Schneider, Secretary  
Bruce Rauner, Governor
www.idfpr.comAgency Quick Links
IDFPR Home Page
Information About
Non-banking Financial Institutions
Professional Regulation
Real Estate
Contact Information
General FAQs
Banks and Trust Companies

2013 Bank Holiday Schedule

The following days in 2013 are legal holidays in Illinois upon which a bank may remain closed, but is not required to:

Date Day Holiday
January 1, 2013 Tuesday New Year's Day
January 21, 2013 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday (Observed)
February 12, 2013 Tuesday Abraham Lincoln's Birthday
February 18, 2013 Monday President's Day
March 4, 2013 Monday Casimir Pulaski's Birthday
March 29, 2013 Friday Good Friday
May 27, 2013 Monday Memorial Day
July 4, 2013 Thursday Independence Day
September 2, 2013 Monday Labor Day
October 14, 2013 Monday Columbus Day
November 11, 2013 Monday Veterans' Day
November 28, 2013 Thursday Thanksgiving Day
December 25, 2013 Wednesday Christmas Day

In addition to the holidays cited above, banks are authorized to close at 12:00 noon on each Saturday and all day on Sunday. A bank may also select one additional day of the week to remain closed by following the procedures outlined in Section 17(b) of the Promissory Note and Bank Holiday Act [205 ILCS 630/17(b)].

2012 Bank Holiday Schedule

New Web Site:

External Links
State Features
Office of the Governor
Illinois Business Portal
Illinois Veterans Care
Get Covered Illinois