Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics, Hair Braiding, and Nail Technology Board

Barbers were placed under the jurisdiction of the Department upon its creation in 1917. The

cosmetology (formerly known as beauty culture) profession was added to the Agency's scope of

regulation in 1928. In 1950, the Department began regulating barber schools and cosmetology

schools as well. Esthetics was added in 1988, nail technology in 1992 and hair braiding in

2011. The Board is composed of eleven individuals appointed by the Secretary, ten of whom

are licensed in at least one of the regulated professions and one public member. The Board is

charged with providing expert knowledge and advice on disciplinary matters and professional

performance and conduct.

Jennifer Alagna Bartlett

Tiffany D. Boyer Decatur

Pamela A. DeBernardi Centralia

* Thomas P. Lawler Wood Dale

Jean Schlaiss Lake in the Hills

Patricia L. Seil Homer Glen

Gregory W. Skipper Broadview

Donald D. Ulm Macomb

Oumou Wague Blue Island

Antoinette D. Wright, Public Member Chicago

* Chairperson

Last Updated: August 3, 2015

Please Close This Screen to Return to the Previous Page.
First Previous Next Last