

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation

Division of Professional Regulation

BRUCE RAUNER Governor BRYAN A. SCHNEIDER Secretary

JAY STEWART Director

Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation Division of Professional Regulation Tax Return Preparation Task Force Minutes

Date: July 30, 2015

Call to Order: 10:05 am – Jay Stewart, Chairperson

Location: IDFPR – Division of Professional Regulation

100 W Randolph, 9th Floor Room 9-171B&C

Chicago, IL 60601

Board Members Present: Jay Stewart, Chairperson; Stephen W. DeFilippis, Member; Geoffrey

Harlow, Member; Andrew Jennison, Member (via phone);

Representative Natalie Manley, Member; Senator John Mulroe, Member;

Jim Nichelson, Member; Michael T. Specha, Member

Board Member(s) Absent: N/A

Staff Members Present: Martha Reggi, Associate General Counsel; Stephanie Rosienski, Law

Clerk; Aaron Curry, Law Clerk

Guests: Daniel Setter, Independent Accountants Association of Illinois; Dick

Lockhart, Independent Accountants Association of Illinois

<u>Via phone</u>: Douglas Blackstone, Executive Director, Maryland Board of Individual Tax Preparers; Richard Ernst, Deputy Commissioner of the Office of Professional Responsibility of the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance; Howard Moyes, Executive Director of the Oregon Board of Tax Preparers; Celeste Heritage, Administrator of the California Tax Education Council; Marty Green, Illinois CPA Society

Topic	Discussion	Action
Motion to Allow Member		A motion was made by
to Attend via phone		Stewart / seconded by Specha
		to allow Jennison to attend by
		phone due to personal issues
		pursuant to 5 ILCS 120/7 of
		the Open Meetings Act.
D 11 G 11	T 0	Motion passed unanimously.
Roll Call	Jay Stewart, present	
	Stephen W. DeFilippis, present	
	Geoffrey Harlow, present	
	Andrew Jennison, present via phone Representative Natalie Manley, present	
	Senator John Mulroe, present	
	Jim Nichelson, present	
	Michael T. Specha, present	
Introductions	Each Task Force member, Department staff, and	
miroductions	guest introduced themselves.	
Approval of June 25,	guest muoduced member (es.	A motion was made by
2015 Meeting Minutes		DeFilippis / seconded by
		Stewart to approve the June
		25, 2015 meeting minutes.
		Motion passed unanimously.
Analysis of Task Force	Chairperson Stewart reviewed the meetings that	
Action	have taken place to date and reviewed the	
	agenda.	
	Guest Douglas Blackstone, Executive Director,	
	Maryland Board of Individual Tax Preparers	
	Mr. Blackstone reviewed the regulatory structure	
	of Maryland, including registration for individual	
	tax preparers, the Maryland State Board for	
	Individual Tax Preparer, and FAQs.	
	Guest Richard Ernst, Deputy Commissioner of	
	the Office of Professional Responsibility of the	
	New York State Department of Taxation and	
	Finance	
	Mr. Ernst reviewed the standards and conducts	
	and regulatory structure of tax return preparers in	
	New York.	
	Guest Howard Moyes, Executive Director of the	
	Oregon Board of Tax Preparers	
	Mr. Moyes reviewed the Oregon Board	
	regulation of tax practitioners and businesses and	
	an overview of complaints received.	

		1
	Guest Celeste Heritage, Administrator of the	
	California Tax Education Council	
	Ms. Heritage reviewed CTEC's regulatory	
	structure and the Tax Preparers Act.	
Old Business	The Task Force reviewed potential future guests.	
	The Task Force plans to meet in August,	
	September, October, and November. Stewart	
	reviewed the Task Force's December 1, 2015	
	report deadline.	
	DeFilippis reviewed the Report of the	
	Commissioner's Advisory Group on Regulation	
	and Registration of Commercial Tax Return	
	Preparers from June 1994.	
	Jennison reviewed a white paper entitled, Tax	
	Return Preparer Standards: An Important Tool to	
	Improve Tax Return Accuracy, Combat, Fraud,	
	and Protect Consumers from the Tax Institute at	
	H&R Block.	
	TICK DIOCK.	
	Travel vouchers were distributed to Task Force	
	Members.	
A 1:	Members.	The section of the section
Adjournment		There being no further
		business to discuss, a motion
		was made by Harlow /
		seconded by DeFilippis to
		adjourn at 12:01 pm. Motion
		passed unanimously.