Massage Licensing Board

The massage therapy profession was placed under the jurisdiction of the Department in 2003.

Massage therapy is a system of structured palpation or movement of the soft tissue of the body.

The system may include, but is not limited to, techniques such as effleurage or stroking and

gliding, petrissage or kneading, tapotement or percussion, friction, vibration, compression, and

stretching activities as they pertain to massage therapy. The Board is made up of seven

members consisting of six massage therapists with at least three years of experience in massage

and one public member. The Board advises the Secretary on matters involving professional

conduct, discipline and qualifications of candidates and licensees under the Act.

Emmanuel Bistas Frankfort

Karen T. Heyden Collinsville

Cynthia R. Javurek Collinsville

* Linda L. Moore Brookfield

Perry D. Myers, Public Member Evanston

Janie Swofford Decatur

* Chairperson

Last Updated: March 19, 2015

Please Close This Screen to Return to the Previous Page.
First Previous Next Last