Architecture Licensing Board

The first Architect Act enacted on June 3, 1897 was the first licensing law in the nation.

Architecture was included in the scope of the agency upon its creation in 1917. The Board is

made up of six members appointed by the Secretary consisting of four licensed architects with at

least ten years of active practice, one licensed architect who is a tenured member of the

architectural faculty of an Illinois public university accredited by the National Architectural

Accrediting Board, and one public member. The practice of architecture includes the offering of

professional services, such as consultation, environmental analysis, feasibility studies,

programming, planning, etc., in connection with the construction of any private or public

building, building structure, building project or addition or alteration or restoration. The Board is

charged with providing curriculum evaluation, conducting oral interviews, advising on

disciplinary matters and providing expert advice and knowledge on professional conduct and


Michael J. Andrejasich Champaign

Richard B. Cook Evanston

Dina A. Griffin Chicago

Pukhraj Jain, Public Member Springfield

Steven H. Pate Crystal Lake

* James K. Zahn North Barrington

* Chairperson

Last Updated: August 13, 2014

Please Close This Screen to Return to the Previous Page.
First Previous Next Last