Optometric Licensing and Disciplinary Board

Optometrists came under the jurisdiction of the Department upon its creation in 1917. Optometry

includes the examination, diagnosis, and treatment of the human eye and its appendages

without the use of surgery. The Board is composed of seven members appointed by the

Secretary, consisting of five licensed optometrists, one faculty member with the Illinois College

of Optometry, and one public member. The Board is charged with providing expert knowledge

and advice on disciplinary matters and professional performance and conduct. For more

information on this profession, see the internet page for the Association of Regulatory Boards of

Optometry .

* P. Douglas Becherer O.D. Belleville

Mary Lou French O.D. Orland Park

Gary G. Gray Jr., O.D. Decatur

Janice M. McMahon O.D. Wheaton

Rosalind A. Morgan Ph.D., Public Member Chicago

Charlotte F. Nielsen O.D. Grayslake

Dennis Rabe O.D. Auburn

* Chairperson

Last Updated: August 3, 2015

Please Close This Screen to Return to the Previous Page.
First Previous Next Last